Manuscript Collection

Missouri Place Names, 1928-1945

The Ramsay Place Names File was compiled by students of University of Missouri professor of English, Robert L. Ramsay (1880-1953) during the first half of the twentieth century.

The place name file includes all 114 Missouri Counties, and Kansas City. Many name places in the file are not associated with a county, or serve as a "see" reference. These names have been included under "None."

Some of the place names reflect language used during the time of the initial study that is both unacceptable and highly offensive today. The State Historical Society of Missouri has chosen not to change or omit these place names. While we do not support such language, our mission is to provide an accurate and complete record of the past.

Please choose a county by clicking on the map, or the name of a county in the list below.

You may also search the place name file by using the box below.

a map of Missouri showing the outline of each county Atchison County Nodaway County Worth County Harrison County Mercer County DeKalb County Putnam County Schuyler County Scotland Clark County Holt County Andrew County Gentry County Daviess County Grundy County Sullivan County Adair County Knox County Lewis County Buchanan County Clinton County Caldwell County Livingston County Linn County Macon County Shelby County Marion County Platte County Clay County Ray County Carroll County Chariton County Randolph County Jackson County Lafayette County Saline County Howard County Monroe County Ralls County Audrain County Pike County Cass County Johnson County Pettis County Cooper County Boone County Callaway County Montgomery County Lincoln County Warren County Saint Charles County Bates County Henry County Benton County Morgan County Moniteau County Cole County Osage County Gasconade County Franklin County Saint Louis County Jefferson County Vernon County Saint Clair County Hickory County Camden County Miller County Maries County Cedar County Polk County Dallas County Laclede County Pulaski County Phelps County Crawford County Washington County Saint Francois County Sainte Genevieve County Perry County Barton County Dade County Greene County Webster County Wright County Texas County Dent County Iron County Madison County Jasper County Lawrence County Christian County Douglas County Shannon County Reynolds County Carter County Wayne County Bollinger County Cape Girardeau County Newton County McDonald County Barry County Stone County Taney County Ozark County Howell County Oregon County Ripley County Butler County Stoddard County Scott County Mississippi County New Madrid County Dunklin County Pemiscot County